Try FAQs:

Q: Is a try a way of scoring points in rugby union and rugby league football?

A: Yes.

Q: Is a try awarded if the defending team commits an act of foul play as the ball is being grounded?

A: Yes.

Q: Was a try officially a single score called a goal from a try which replaced the score of the "try"?

A: Yes, The change allowed the player who touched down for the try and the player who kicked the conversion to be credited separately for their portions of the score.

Q: Is a try worth less in rugby league?

A: Yes, and it is more often the main method of scoring due to the smaller value of a goal kick and surety of possession.

Q: Is a try analogous to a touchdown in American and Canadian football, with the major difference being that a try requires the ball be simultaneously touching the ground in the in-goal area and an attacking player who is in the field of play or in-goal?

A: Yes, In the laws of both codes of rugby, the term touch down formally refers only to grounding the ball by the defensive team in their in-goal.

Q: Is a try scored if an attacker grounds the ball simultaneously with a defender?

A: Yes.

Q: Is a try scored by grounding the ball in the opposition's in-goal area?

A: Yes, Rugby union and league differ slightly in defining 'grounding the ball' and the 'in-goal' area.

Q: Is a try worth five points?

A: Yes, and in rugby league, four.

Q: Is a try scored?

A: Yes, and the scoring team gets to attempt a conversion, which is a kick at goal to convert the try from one set of points into another larger set of points.

Q: Is a try scored?

A: Yes.

Q: Is a try awarded by the referee?

A: Yes, and within which time the conversion kick must be taken, hence a team may decline a conversion attempt if recommencing play as quickly as possible is advantageous to them.

Q: Is a try awarded?

A: Yes, and is followed by a conversion attempt, in-line from where the try was scored, and then a penalty kick from in front of the posts.

Q: Are tries always awarded under the posts regardless of where the offence took place?

A: Yes.